Getting Art Out of the Closet

This blog is about my journey as an artist so aside from my art, I’m going to share with you the things I’ve learned that have helped me or inspired me to keep at it and become a success.

One of the biggest reasons I put aside art for as long as I did was that I had a hard time dealing with the fact that I was producing all these paintings and then they proceeded to sit in my basement, it just seemed pointless. I didn’t need more stuff to store in my basement – I already had plenty of that!  I didn’t have the time or energy to really make it as an artist, I had to make a living after all. So I put it in the closet for the next 5 years.

This year things changed…I changed.  I realized that it was possible to be successful as an artist.  If others could do it, I could too.  I took my art out of the closet and I started producing so many paintings that I risked flooding the basement. But this time I was determined, I was not going to let it pile up in the basement. I just had to figure out what successful artists were doing because it was obviously something that I was missing.

The first thing I did was I stopped being a Facebook snob that only accepted people as friends that I actually knew. Sounds silly but soon after I put up a photo album with my art I started getting requests from other artists. From these friendly artists I’ve learned valuable information that has helped me in my journey to find out the secrets I was seeking. Two weeks ago it lead me to the most amazing discovery yet. Through an art blog that was recommended by one of my new friends I found a book written by a gallery owner called “Starving to Successful” .  I read the book in an afternoon. I believe that it is THE book for an artist that wants to be successful.  I found that I was doing a lot of things right (which was nice to know) but it completely filled in all those questions marks that I had.   I’m grateful to the author J. Jason Horejs for writing the book and helping me in my journey to become a professional artist and keeping me from stumbling around in the dark.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art Work, Oil Paintings, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

