Making Myself Into A Twitter Ninja

My Tweet Story:

How I Got Two Friends Featured In Southwest Art Magazine

Last year I joined Twitter after learning more about it during an art marketing workshop put on by The Art Engine.  The basic strategy I was given was to follow those that you want to follow you.

So I joined and started following Southwest Art Magazine and it’s Associate Editor Courtney Carpenter because my art has a bit of a Southwest feel to it.  A few weeks after I signed up I saw a tweet by SouthwestArt that said:  We’re looking for figurative artists….any ideas? So, I replied: @SouthwestArt check out www.juliesnyder.com and www.kellyreemtsen.com both wonderful in different ways.

A few days later she sent me a message asking: @AthenaMantle Hey, do you have any idea where Kelly lives? Her work is so different and fun! Thanks for your suggestions! So I replied: @SouthwestArt Kelly lives in Los Angeles. and started thinking…this could really lead to something!  I sent my friend Kelly (who’s not on Twitter) an email saying: Hey, if you get a call from Southwest Art Magazine asking for an interview or something you have me to thank!! A week or so later I saw a post by Julie that said: I’m stoked! Just got interviewed by Southwest Art – January issue. Thanks @SouthwestArt Now, I got to thinking….did I do that?  I didn’t know Julie that well at this point so I tweeted Courtney and made sure to include Julie:@courtney_swa @ArtyJulieSnyder Courney, did you pick Julie for the mag because of the recommendation I sent you on the figure artists? and she said:@AthenaMantle Yes I did!! I actually am including Kelly too—I just haven’t gotten ahold of her yet. We’ve been playing phone tag! Now, I knew that I had just gotten my two friends into a national art magazine, wow…I was just beside myself!

Now you tell me that Twitter is a waste of time!  I think not!  Here is a scan of Kelly’s feature in the magazine that was published in the January issue.  Julie’s is coming out in March.  I have to say I felt pretty good about my good deeds!

My Turn, Making Twitter Work For Me

Keeping a keen eye on my tweet thread, I saw a post looking for artists to feature in a gallery with only a phone number listed.  I called, set up a meeting and landed myself a solo show.  Not too shabby for a few weeks on Twitter!

Anyone else have any Twitter stories?  Follow me @AthenaMantle…tweet you later!

Leave a comment

Filed under Art Marketing, Art Work, Oil Paintings, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

