Just Plein Motivation

I find it hard to get out there with the easel and paints and just start creating.  I liken it to getting out to exercise.  Sometimes it’s just hard to get past the comforts of home and get out there. I took a workshop in plein air painting recently and really enjoyed it. It is a whole new world for painting, I think it stretches your creative muscles much more than painting in a studio from photos. I even went so far as to buy a painting box meant for this activity as the French easel I bought was so huge and clunky compared to what all the other students had. Not to mention I brought every brush I own and the instructor teased me about it. It really does helps to have the right equipment and not a stitch more. The idea of lugging a huge easel, all the paints, turpentine, brushes, towels, canvas or boards, etc. to some beautiful remote location made me forget the idea the minute I considered it. Taking photos was a much more appealing option.

I just came across this great article by Lori McNee which I really does give that needed motivation to get out there and paint!  http://www.finearttips.com/2011/03/10-motivating-tips-for-the-plein-air-painter/.  Read it and subscribe to her blog, she’s full of good information for artists.

Below is a slideshow to give you a glimpse of the fun I had at Frank Serrano’s urban painting workshop, in and around downtown Los Angeles.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Comments

Filed under Art Work, Oil Paintings, Plein Air Painting

5 responses to “Just Plein Motivation

  1. Ready to do some Plein Airing! But the weather is just getting to the point of being comfortable.

  2. Hello Athena,

    It looks like you all had a great time out-there painting. It is wonderful seeing how one can find inspiration even in the concrete jungle! Taking what you have learned outside and back into the studio always makes for stronger painting muscles.
    Also, thanks for including me in your post. I enjoyed seeing your article and video. I like Frank’s work.

    Best-
    Lori

  3. Great blog and awesome blog post, Love the photos of your experience. Very nice…:0)

Leave a Reply

