Just Plein Painting It!

It has been my goal to get out there and paint the world in real life – not using photos. So, this past week I did just that. I thought I’d take a moment to share with you what I did.

I started last week inside a friends house with some lovely Iceberg roses that caught my eye.  I decided I’d try making a pastel sketch and then do a painting for each subject.

These were both painted “al a prima” or in one sitting.  I am not sure if it’s just the rectangular orientation of the pastel or what but I prefer the pastel on this subject. How about  you?

The next day I was able to capture a succulent with pastels in my friend’s backyard. This was fun because all the other succulents I’ve painted have been from photos.

“Iceberg Roses” and  “Propagation” are available in my Esty shop.

Stay tuned for more plein air painting and I’d love to get your feedback, so feel free to leave a comment!

Happy painting!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Just Plein Painting It!

  1. NICE, Athena! You are inspiring me. I agree that the pastel has more impact than the oil because of the composition, and it has a nice spontaneous quality. But all of them are very aesthetic. It’s going to be hard, but I’m going to try to match your productivity.

    • I’m so glad you feel inspired! I can’t wait to see what comes off your easel! Yes, the spontaneousness of a painting is always something we love but can never plan for which is why it just isn’t in the oil! Thanks for the input. ;O)

Leave a Reply

